Examination Policy

Grading and GPA Calculations

The Grade Point Average (GPA) provides a continuous scale for grades earned. Two types of averages are computed for the grades obtained by a student, the Semester Grade Point Average (SGPA) and the Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA). SGPA gives the GPA of courses completed in a semester, whereas CGPA gives the GPA of all courses completed so far by a student.
Interpretation of Letter Grades is as follows:
Grade Interpretation
A+ Outstanding
A, A- Excellent
B+, B, B- Good
C+, C Adequate
C-, D+, D Pass, the student may repeat the course
F Fail
FA Fail due to shortage of attendance
I Incomplete
W Withdrawn
The points for each letter grade are given as follows:
Grade Points Grade Points
A+ 4.00 C+ 2.33
A 4.00 C 2.00
A_ 3.67 C- 1.67
B+ 3.33 D+ 1.33
B 3.00 D 1.00
B- 2.67 F 0.00
  • SGPA is calculated as follows:
  • SGPA = (P1*C1 + P2*C2 + P3*C3 + P4*C4)/C
  • Where P1, P2, P3 and P4 are the grade points earned in particular courses, while C1, C2, C3, C4 are the credit hours of respective course studied in the semester and C is the number of total credits attempted in the semester, that is, C= C1+C2+C3+C4.
  • CGPA is calculated as the weighted average for all semesters cumulatively using grade points of all the courses taken by a student.
  • In CGPA calculation for such courses that have been repeated, only the most recent grade points are used, even if they are less than the earlier attempts.
  • ā€œWā€ will be awarded for withdrawn courses. It will appear on the transcript but will not affect the CGPA.
  • ā€œIā€ is a temporary grade given for incomplete work. If it is not changed to an earned grade, it shall automatically convert to F grade after a fixed time communicated by the competent authority.